[University home]

School of Arts, Histories and Cultures (This a legacy site)
History Image
History, with its '5' rating in the latest (2001) Research Assessment exercise and its thirty staff, embraces research interests from medieval to contemporary times that are hard to summarise. It does, however, have a noted concentration of scholarship in cultural and social history from Late Antiquity on.

Academic Staff

You can also search the staff by:

Head of Subject Area

Professor Nicholas Higham
nick.j.higham@manchester.ac.uk
Ext: 53114
Room: W2.04 Samuel Alexander Building

Dr Theo Balderston
balderston@manchester.ac.uk
Ext: 53087
Room: N2.6 Samuel Alexander Building

Dr Thomas Balkelis
thomas.balkelis@manchester.ac.uk
Ext: 53092
Room: N2.11 Samuel Alexander Building

Dr Hannah Barker
hannah.barker@manchester.ac.uk
Ext: 57791
Room: W2.09 Samuel Alexander Building

Professor Joseph Bergin
joe.bergin@manchester.ac.uk
Ext: 53084
Room: S2.22 Samuel Alexander Building

Dr Laurence Brown
Laurence.Brown@manchester.ac.uk
Ext: 53100
Room: N2.2 Samuel Alexander Building

Dr Ana Carden-Coyne
a.cc@manchester.ac.uk
Ext: 53094
Room: N2.13 Samuel Alexander Building

Dr Paolo Di Martino
P.Dimartino@manchester.ac.uk
Ext. 53090
Room: N2.9 Samuel Alexander Building

Dr Paulo Drinot
paulo.drinot@manchester.ac.uk
Ext: 53249
Room: N2.14 Samuel Alexander Building

Professor Paul Fouracre
paul.fouracre@manchester.ac.uk
Ext: 53086
Room: S2.21 Samuel Alexander Building

Professor Peter Gatrell
peter.gatrell@manchester.ac.uk
Ext: 53097
Room: N2.1 Samuel Alexander Building

Dr Till Geiger
till.geiger@manchester.ac.uk
Ext: 53096
Room: S2.21 Samuel Alexander Building

Dr Anindita Ghosh
anindita.ghosh@manchester.ac.uk
Ext: 53095
Room: S2.17 Samuel Alexander Building

Dr Penelope Gouk
gouk@manchester.ac.uk
Ext: 55910

Dr Jane Hamlett
jane.hamlett@manchester.ac.uk

Dr Sasha Handley
sasha.handley@manchester.ac.uk
Ext: 53084
Room: S2.22 Samuel Alexander Building

Dr Joseph Harrison
robert.j.harrison@manchester.ac.uk
Ext: 53113
Room: W2.06 Samuel Alexander Building

Dr Leif Jerram
l.jerram@manchester.ac.uk
Ext: 53112
Room: W2.07 Samuel Alexander Building

Dr Max Jones
max.jones@manchester.ac.uk
Ext: 53101
Room: W2.17 Samuel Alexander Building

Dr Stuart Jones
stuart.jones@manchester.ac.uk
Ext: 53121
Room: S2.23 Samuel Alexander Building

Professor Patrick Joyce
patrick.joyce@manchester.ac.uk
Ext: 53089
Room: W2.05 Samuel Alexander Building

Dr Peter Kirby
peter.kirby@manchester.ac.uk
Ext: 53111
Room: N2.10 Samuel Alexander Building

Dr C C Leyser
conrad.leyser@manchester.ac.uk
Ext: 53247
Room: N2.15 Samuel Alexander Building

Dr Tracey Loughran
tracey.loughran@manchester.ac.uk

Prof. Frank Mort
frank.mort@manchester.ac.uk
Ext.: 58965
Room: A1.08, Samuel Alexander Building

Dr R. C. Nash
robert.c.nash@manchester.ac.uk
Ext.: 53108
Room: W1.18, Samuel Alexander Building

Dr Colin Phillips
colin.b.phillips@manchester.ac.uk
Ext: 53093
Room: N2.12 Samuel Alexander Building

Dr Steven Pierce
steven.pierce@manchester.ac.uk
Ext: 53146
Room: N2.4 Samuel Alexander Building

Prof. Gyan Prakash

Dr Glyn Redworth
glyn.redworth@manchester.ac.uk
Ext: 53092
Room: N2.11 Samuel Alexander Building

Professor Steve Rigby
stephen.h.rigby@manchester.ac.uk
Ext: 53085
Room: N2.4 Samuel Alexander Building

Dr Laura Sandy
laura_sandy@hotmail.com

Dr Julie-Marie Strange
julie-marie.strange@manchester.ac.uk
Ext: 53025
Room: N2.07 Samuel Alexander Building

Professor Penny Summerfield
Penny.summerfield@manchester.ac.uk
Ext: 61242
Room: A3 Samuel Alexander Building

Professor Daniel Szechi
daniel.szechi@manchester.ac.uk
Ext: 53081
Room: N2.17 Samuel Alexander Building.

Professor Bertrand Taithe
bertrand.taithe@manchester.ac.uk
Ext: 53102
Room: W2.16 Samuel Alexander Building

Dr Selina Todd
selina.todd@manchester.ac.uk

Dr Maiken Umbach
maiken.umbach@manchester.ac.uk
Ext: 53050
Room: S2.18 Samuel Alexander Building

Dr Charlotte Wildman
charlotte.wildman@manchester.ac.uk
Ext: 57791
Room: W2.09, Samuel Alexander Building

Dr Natalie Zacek
natalie.a.zacek@manchester.ac.uk
Ext: 57073
Room: N2.8 Samuel Alexander Building

Dr Yangwen Zheng
yangwen.zheng@manchester.ac.uk

Emeritus Professors

Jeffrey H. Denton, BA, PhD
Professor Robert Millward - robert.millward@manchester.ac.uk
Francis O'Gorman, BA, PhD - fog17@btinternet.com
Brian S. Pullan, MA, PhD, FBA
Michael E. Rose, BA, D.Phil

Honorary Senior Research Fellows

Dr Peter Lowe
peter.c.lowe@manchester.ac.uk

Dr Andrew Marrison

Honorary Research Fellows in History

Dr. Nick Baron
Nick Mansfield, BA, B Phil, PhD
Dr. Iori Prothero
Paula Simpson, BA, MA
Beryl Taylor, BA, PhD

Classics & Ancient History Staff

Click here for more information on Classics and Ancient History

Dr Mary Beagon
mary.a.beagon@manchester.ac.uk
Ext: 53091
Room: N.2.5 Samuel Alexander Building

Prof. Tim Cornell
tim.cornell@manchester.ac.uk

Dr Andy Fear
andrew.fear@manchester.ac.uk
Ext: 53122
Room: W2.11 Samuel Alexander Building

Dr Julia Hillner
julia.hillner@manchester.ac.uk
Ext: 57024
Room: S2.17 Samuel Alexander Building

Dr Daryn Lehoux
daryn.lehoux@manchester.ac.uk
Ext: 53168
Room: S2.16 Samuel Alexander Building

Dr Peter Liddel
peter.liddel@manchester.ac.uk
Ext: 53083
Room: W2.16 Samuel Alexander Building

Dr Polly Low
polly.low@manchester.ac.uk
Ext: 53115
Room: W2.08 Samuel Alexander Building

Prof. Tim Parkin
tim.parkin@manchester.ac.uk
Ext: 53099
Room: S2.24 Samuel Alexander Building

Dr Stephen Todd
stephen.todd@manchester.ac.uk
Ext: 53120

Historians In SAHC

Scholars working in the History Subject Area work closely with historians working within other Subject Areas within the School of Arts, Histories and Cultures, including

Historians in Other Schools

Many historians also work in other schools within the University of Manchester, especially:

Our BA and MA students are often able to study with these scholars, many of whom also serve on the supervisory teams for History PhD students.